Adapting Storify

Xavier Damman

Photo Credit: Xavier Damman via Compfight

Adapting Storify to the Classroom

I looked at Storify a few weeks ago mulling over how I could best integrate this program into the classroom. Did I need Storify? If so, what benefit could it have for my students on their educational journey?

I created a basic Storify project on Romeo and Juliet. I wasn’t very organised in my selection of the material … and I felt that it was a little bit similar in format to the program Learnist.

http://storify.com/jmargerison/romeo-and-juliet

But getting ready for my next term’s work, I am interested in adapting Storify to the classroom in a student-driven inquiry approach.

Teaching Take Away #1 – I will get the students to research the documentary via Storify prior to showing it or discussing it. They can create their own notes and add their clips from documentaries of the choice. The goal in this Storify curation exercise will be research the elements of the documentary from different perspectives. The aim will be to demonstrate that even documentaries are a careful selection of edited pieces of footage placed together to make a believable and engaging story.

http://storify.com/jmargerison/michael-moore-documentary

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar