Learnist

Photography on Twitter

Creative Commons License Photo Credit: Marc Benton via Compfight

 Learnist

I have been talking about Learnist for a few months at conferences. Learnist provides a way of organising visuals and hyperlinks into “socially-driven lessons.” Similar to  Pinterest,  Learnist is digital tools  designed to leverage on Web 2.0 visual and text resources. It also enables students to take ownership of their own organisation on a topic of interest.

I have used it as a P/L tool for myself. One board that I have been recently skimming and scanning is this one regarding tips on using Twitter in Education. 

I have also created a few boards to experiment as to how I might implement it asa s a teaching – learning tool in my classroom.

So far, we have used Learnist as a way of following the news in an organised and inquiry driven format.It has worked well to stimulate discussion.

The example that we are following is a board that is connected with Syria and the current conflict. What is really valuable for teaching and learning is that there are 10 visual clips with questions of inquiry labelled at the top for the students to follow very easily.

 

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar